i am not a stereotype

 

I haven’t written as often as I’d like due to a variety of factors, the main one being time.  The semester ends in two weeks so there are a lot of projects wrapping up all at once!  For my Design for Complex Systems class (aka Senior Studio) we’ve been working on a project/campaign called “i am not a stereotype” that looks at race and color.  I’ve written about it on here before I think, but yesterday and today we’ve been putting up several installations here at school to demonstrate one way that our campaign can be implemented.  They look deceptively simple, but we’ve actually put a lot more time and effort into the concept than most people might think.  Three of our statements are now up on the wall (see below) and I’ll be at school late tonight with my group installing the fourth statement and our wall exhibit.  If all goes well, I’ll post a couple more pictures tomorrow!

 

i am brown   i am brown, some people think i am red

 

i am white

i am white, sometimes i wish i was red, black, or yellow

 

i am black

i am black, i don’t rap

Leave a Reply

