Indian Princess Project

 

Ever since I took a course on Indigenous Visual Perspectives from the Institute of American Indian Arts back in 2007, I’ve been much more aware of American Indian stereotypes in popular culture. It isn’t a subject that is new, but I’ve had ideas about how I might approach it from an artist’s perspective for a while. Finally, I’m feeling ready to start approaching this. Of course, I’ve also been putting together grant proposals relating to a larger print-related project I’m going to be starting this fall… Still, I like having multiple things to work on at once. I can devote most of my attention to the prints and working with learning about traditional designs and how I interpret them, and then take breaks from that to work on something a little less rigorous. My initial supplies arrived in the mail today and I’m excited to see where this goes!

 

IMG_0581

Leave a Reply

