The Magic of Believing

 

stanford banner(Banner image from http://pocketschool.stanford.edu/)

 

What’s up with Stanford? Well, I’m putting my intentions out there in the universe. (Multiverse?) Graduate school is definitely a goal of mine, and Stanford has always been a favorite school since I visited the campus when I was little. I even used to have a Stanford sweatshirt! I know all about the statistics and how hard it is to get accepted. But you know what? That won’t keep me from applying. And if I’m not accepted, I’ll just keep on applying.

It might sound weird, but Phyllis Diller told me I should read, The Magic of Believing. Okay, so she didn’t personally tell me this, but I was watching a documentary about her last live stage show and one of the things she attributed her success to was that book. I’ve been reading it, and sure, it was published in 1948 and seems a little “antique” by today’s standards. However, I can’t really argue with the basic premise that your attitude is everything.

 

I’ve had my own experiences with this. I started to turn my life around back in 2005 when I made the decision to go back to school and not let anything stand in my way. I also got to a point where I told myself I was content being alone with myself and stopped “searching” for a relationship. Of course, right after that was when I met the person I’ve been with for the past five years. However these things might sound in print, I personally know how the experiences felt to me. And they were pretty magical. I’m such a different person now than I was five years ago. So much of that is because of two things: first, I set my sights on a specific goal, and second, I started being okay with myself.

 

So here I am, setting another goal for the future. I know I’ll go graduate school at some point. I KNOW this. I’m hoping it will be at Stanford. It just “feels” right somehow. But if that doesn’t turn out to be, I’m also not going to let it crush me. I’ve had a lot of luck during my past school career with applying for scholarships and I’ve also had my share (especially recently) of rejection notices for other opportunities I’ve applied for. Times seem tough. There’s a lot of competition. Luckily, I also believe in myself and my abilities. Submitting an application is the first step toward achieving my goals. And you know what? Originally, I was going to wait until next year to apply. But screw that. I’m going to submit an application THIS year.

 

Okay, I said it. Now I have to do it!

Leave a Reply

