“Once acorns were Ikxareyavs.”

 

acorn

 

Just got back from dropping off my artwork for the Squaxin Art Auction. Since my car is getting fixed, I took the bus downtown to deliver it to a place where it can be picked up this weekend. I can’t remember the last time I’ve taken the bus for any significant distance, aside from a couple of trips between Seattle and Yakima in the last few years. I think it is good to do this. I get so used to driving in my car, but having to pay attention to where I’m going and what I’m doing, well… my senses were heightened and I was much more present.

 

Even though it wasn’t far, I did get a ride to the bus stop on my way downtown. For the return trip, walking the short distance from the bus stop to my apartment was shocking. Not in a bad way, but I had never taken this route on foot. It was a totally different experience. For instance, on a sidewalk that I drive by all the time, I found that there was a shower of acorns and their caps. I found one with the cap still attached (above) and it reminded me of this book I just got called Basket Tales of the Grandmothers, specifically of a Karuk story about how acorns were once animate beings and how their hats are reminiscent of women’s Karuk basket caps. Or vice versa? Then, as I got to my apartment complex, I entered from a different side of it and walked by the pond that I had never actually visited before. There was a ladybug on the wood fence railing. Ducks were swimming and resting along the sides. I noticed a fern growing out of the top of a rain spout.

 

All of this reminds me that it is good to be alive!

Leave a Reply

