smARTpower

Apparently, I’m the master of many small posts tonight. I just submitted my application for smARTpower tonight and am happy that I got it in five days before the deadline. Woohoo! No procrastination! I’m excited about this opportunity and chose Ecuador, Venezuela, and Nepal as my top three countries to visit if I’m selected. More info about the program is below. I’ve got my fingers crossed!

smARTpowersm will send fifteen U.S. artists abroad to work with local artists and young people around the world to create community-based art projects. Travel opportunities of up to 45 days will be awarded to selected artists to design and develop programs in cooperation with local arts organizations in host countries including China, Ecuador, Egypt, Ghana, India, Kosovo, Lebanon, Nepal, Nigeria, Pakistan, the Philippines, Kenya, Sri Lanka, Turkey, and Venezuela. smARTpower will support the development and implementation of community-based art projects that engage youth and other local residents, including artists. The projects are strongly encouraged to create a tangible legacy of the work accomplished through smARTpower in a variety of visual arts media, including but not limited to painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installation, photo-based work, public art, and interdisciplinary projects. Participatory work is strongly recommended and encouraged. Artists will address a full range of relevant subjects including, but not limited to, women’s empowerment, the environment, health, education, and civic engagement.

4 thoughts on “smARTpower

    • I just realized that I didn’t save a copy of it since I submitted it online. Argh! I like to respond to a place if I’m working in a specific location, but I thought it would be great to have a series of small workshops with community members and encourage them to explore traditional designs in new mediums. There could also be a community project such as a mural, installation, or otherwise. The countries I was most interested in are Ecuador, Venezuela, and Nepal!

  1. Pingback: we interrupt this regularly scheduled program « Making Art with Fabric

Leave a Reply

