“It was never between you and them anyway.”

Dropped off my piece for the DameBuilder show that opens this Thursday. I saw some of the other work and it looked pretty cool. Plus, I hadn’t been to Twilight before, and it was such a nice little space! I have another painting in progress as well. It is interesting to see how these have been changing.

Speaking of changing, there are still things happening in my own life too. Starting a new position at the end of the month that I’m looking forward to. It is with the same company, but in a different department. Also, I’ve been extending my reevaluation of my life into areas that I wasn’t expecting to. Kind of scary, but better to really explore and face these issues than ignore them. Life is too short.

Ran across a quote that was written on Mother Theresa’s wall in Calcutta:

“People are often unreasonable, irrational, and self-centered. Forgive them anyway.
If you are kind, people may accuse you of selfish, ulterior motives. Be kind anyway.
If you are successful, you will win some unfaithful friends and some genuine enemies. Succeed anyway.
…If you are honest and sincere, people may deceive you. Be honest and sincere anyway.
What you spend years creating, others could destroy overnight. Create anyway.
If you find serenity and happiness, some may be jealous. Be happy anyway.
The good you do today, will often be forgotten. Do good anyway.
Give the best you have, and it will never be enough. Give your best anyway.
In the final analysis, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them anyway.”

Those last two sentences really got me. I’m not really religious at all, but whether it is God, the Universe, or however you choose to look at things, it is true. I can only control what I do and how I react and the type of person I choose to be. So who do I want to be?

Leave a Reply

