Totem House

Drove by the old Totem House restaurant in Ballard this past weekend. I’ve heard it is slated to become a new location for another Red Mill Burgers, or something along those lines. The new owners are working at restoring parts of the building and don’t plan to alter how it looks. These types of places always fascinate me as they are visually Native, yet were created by non-Natives for a non-Native audience. Originally, this building housed a trinket shop, probably much like how the Olde Curiousity Shoppe down on the waterfront got started. To me, this place both is and is not Indian.

In other news, it sounds like I will likely be showing some work at the First Thursday art walk in July? I’ll share more when I know more myself!

Leave a Reply

