Son Factory III

Woke up at 4:30 AM yesterday with a horrible migraine! Perfect way to start off the 4th of July, eh? Took some medicine and eventually got back to sleep, but I ended up staying home most of the day while Bryn joined friends up at Boom City and then went to their place in Bothell. One good thing though, I managed to complete the series I’d been working on! There are four of them (one shown above) and I also got a chance to photograph them and add them to my website. They all look rather similar although each one is also unique.

I haven’t done anything with mixed media in a long while so I was nervous about the possibility of ruining four perfectly good paintings, but I’m pretty happy with the results. The idea came out of these four pieces of glass I had painted with enamel while I was at Pilchuck. I liked them, but what was I going to do with them? I conceived of somehow incorporating them into a series of paintings, but wasn’t sure how or why I should do it. I was initially going to do the series as “Sun Factory” to go with my print series of the same name. But as I got into it, inspiration struck, and I pushed it in a different direction. I added portions of my adoption decree that I had scanned and printed (using archival inks, of course). I scanned and printed baby pictures and one family shot to place beneath the glass panels. They are secured to the painting with brass wire woven in a “dreamcatcher” type design. Artificial sinew, beads, shells, rocks, and paper feathers add embellishment.

They’re definitely more personal than a lot of my work. But they were also fairly healing to make. It’s been an interesting spring with many ups and downs. I’ve definitely had a lot of things from my childhood coming back to me, much of which I attribute to my father’s death last December. I also have to give a big shoutout to Janet Rogers, who sent me a copy of her CD “Firewater” that provided a soundtrack to this work. I have no idea how many times I listened to it in it’s entirety!

Leave a Reply

