Handcrafted Diploma?

It’s always amusing how cleaning/organizing can lead me to make something new. Today I was sorting through a stack of papers and came across a couple of sealed official transcripts from Cornish. Unbeknownst to me, our cat had yakked all over the corners of both envelopes. I ripped them up and threw them in the trash.

Then I started thinking about them, and what they mean, the numbers, the scores, the significance of what those documents contribute towards who I am. I decided to fish them out of the garbage and save them for a potential project. Later today, when I was doing some gluing and then had some time and a spare panel, I started working on this. I’m going to have to step away from it for a bit and see how I feel about it. I’m kind of thinking of it as my personal version of my college diploma. It would be sort of fun to hang them both together?

It incorporated portions of the official torn transcript with acrylic paint and graphite. I also used stencils from spring of 2010 when I was at Crow’s Shadow the first time that year. I always save them, and these cutout triangles with the dried ink on them were perfect. The paper I used for the stencils was already red, and the inks on them were mostly red, black, and gray. It seems like it may be a little busy, however I seem to think that of most of my things lately. Until I go back and look at them, that is.

Leave a Reply

