Light Explorations: Texture, Reflection, and Color

I was adding a “design” category to my website’s portfolio today to reflect my design education related to Interior Design. It was kind of fun to look back and remember all of those previous projects! One of my favorites was a research project from an early studio class where I looked at Architect Steven Holl’s use of light and materials in his Chapel of St. Ignatius on the Seattle University campus. I believe this was from Fall 2008. The image above is of the final product–a series of study models and watercolor renderings.

Above is a graphite drawing I did of the Chapel the previous semester for a Space Illustration class. Below is a side-by-side view of one of the models along with the matching rendering. I chose to express the renderings in watercolor to reference his original concept drawing which is also shown below.

Leave a Reply

