I Will Go Back and Not Come Out

Installation was completed this past weekend on Saturday morning! Above is a view of two (out of three) of the dreamcatchers hanging in the tree. It went okay, even with a last minute site change based on the scale of the pieces and the size of the ladder I had with me. Initially they were going to be suspended between four trees along the road, but the ladder I had wasn’t tall enough to safely get me as high as I wanted to place them so I turned to a nearby tree instead, which actually both changed and informed the final work.

The title comes from a writing of the late Professor Jon Gierlich, and I had him in mind when first proposing the piece. After I was selected and was refining my idea, I realized that to stay within the constraints set by the park, I would need to change things. So I scaled down from one gigantic dreamcatcher to three smaller (but still big) ones. As I was assembling them, I started to think of them as representing the three adults in my life who are now dead who were most influential: my parents, and Jon Gierlich.

The final placement put two of them closer together on one side of the tree (shown above) and one by itself on a branch on the opposite side. I also included three felt feathers hanging alone, two on one side and one on the other. In my mind, I see the two togther as my parents, and the one alone, as Jon.

I liked that the tree forms an “umbrella” of sorts over the work. I was nervous about installing and how it would turn out, but after a few days, I’m actually pretty happy with it now. It doesn’t necessarily match what I was thinking in my head, but by going with the flow I’ve ended up with a work that is more introspective, and better matches my thoughts as I was constructing it. I had thought it would be something bright and eye-catching up in the trees, but it has turned out to be quieter, more of a suprise that you can stumble upon, as if the pieces are hiding, but not hidden. We’ll see how well it lasts in the elements or if people are compelled to mess with them at all. If they end up falling apart or being stolen, I won’t mind so much. I really see the activity of making and hanging these as the significant part of the piece.

3 thoughts on “I Will Go Back and Not Come Out

  1. Thank you so much for sharing your process and your stunning installation! It is so helpful to read your thoughts and experience. I’ll be installing my piece this week. I’m looking forward to meeting you this weekend.

  2. Thank you so much for sharing your process and photos of you installation. They are beautiful. It is fascinating how the location and place informed the work. I’ll be installing my piece this week. I’m looking forward to meeting you and the other artists soon.

    • Thank you for the kind words! I love the whole idea behind this exhibition and am excited to be a part of it!

Leave a Reply

